How to Become More Social: The Key to a Better, Healthier Lifestyle for Interacting with Others

“I want to be more social. That’s what I wanted in life.”

That is the saying that EVERYONE at some point in their lives tell themselves when they start to realize how important it is to become a more social person. Turns out that you might not know how to become that way.

Some think that it is very easy to interact with other people. Some find it extremely difficult. In rare cases, some can’t help not being social because of the way they were either raised or born.

In my case, I didn’t want to be social until the 8th grade. Why did it take me so long though?

I’m someone with autism, a known brain disorder. It’s just the way I was born.

Since I’ve learned so much on how to have a social life ever since that time I realized how a social life can help me out, I wanted to create a post and possibly more like this in the future known as an EPIC post, a kind of post where you can learn so much information from. This post however will be focused on how to be more social and why it is important to have that interaction with other people.

Even in my case, I still find it difficult.

But there is one thing that I can tell you guys that has led me to become more successful in life itself, especially for becoming more social. That is to get out of your comfort zone.

Really? Yes really. Even I have to realize that when I missed an opportunity one time that could’ve lead to a potential significant other. Who cares though! What matters is that you need to get out of your so called “box” at some point in your life to interact with others. You can’t do it when you’re stuck in that box of yours.

Ever hear of that term “Think outside of the box”? Yeah. It’s exactly what it sounds like. Sometimes you just have to think outside of your mindset to figure out how to interact with, for example, that girl or guy you see that could become a new friend or possibly better. Another way of thinking outside of the box is to change that mindset of yours. Yes. Just change it for the better! Because when you have the same mindset, you’re missing out. Life is ALWAYS changing and sometimes we can’t change certain things but we definitely can change the way we THINK of things!

If you can’t seem to say hi to someone new, then there has to be something you’re doing wrong. Something that you CAN change if you put your mind to it!

You’re probably thinking how though.

When there is a will, there IS a way. Even I have trouble to so called making the “first move”. There really is a way to do something like that though.

PUSH YOURSELF.

Even if you think you can’t do it or have that nervous energy within you, just try your very best to push yourself to your goal. You’ll feel so much better when you finally accomplish that goal you’ve always wanted to accomplish.

BUT there is one thing that you must face when you become more social or try to become more social. That is rejection.

You have got to be kidding me. Not rejection!

But especially for me, EVERYONE gets rejected from something at some point in their lives. I remember the time I got rejected when I tried to say hi to some of my friends even though they were busy doing something. Funny thing is that it was a friend that I happened to be not so comfortable with.

That right there is another thing you must keep in mind. You will NOT be comfortable with every situation you come across AND not everyone is going to want to talk to you.

Man, so much to talk about I don’t even know where to start silly me!

I guess for now, all I can say is to put yourself out there when it comes to being more social.

These days, I notice that social media has become a trend, basically not just in the United States but the ENTIRE planet! If you’re always using social media AND not talking to others in person, something’s wrong with that picture.

Social media wasn’t just invented for connecting with others easily.

It was also so that way people can step out of their comfort zones easily without the pressure of approaching someone.

But to be honest, social media becomes meaningless to all of us if that’s all we ever do to interact with others. It’s basically “addicting” as I call it.

So, with that being said, I will now give whoever is reading this some strategies on how to become more social.

Also note that the rest of this post was written, edited, and published a couple of days after it’s been started so please don’t mind if the rest looks a little different.

Anyways, back to the advice though, here are some tips on how to become more social in life:

-Stop looking at that phone or putting on those earphones! You’ll be amazed on how just even looking at your phone can make you become less social. People would think that you’re busy to socialize or even you DO NOT want to socialize at all! What I would recommend is the next piece of advice in this article which is…

-Say hi to someone new every day, even if you don’t get a response that’s good! Some people LOVE it when someone else says hi to him or her. But there is always that one barrier that gets in everyone’s way. That is to have confidence and the ability to keep that confidence. What I do is to try my best to remember that not everyone is going to give me that one positive response I always want. It is rare that I have an experience where I face rejection but since I don’t experience it too much, I can’t say that I have faced it so much BUT I can say that rejection is horrible. But horrible in a good way of course. You won’t always get that positive response you always want you know!

-If you’re in school and/or college, get involved! Don’t just go to school or college just for classes (unless your schedule is so slammed you just don’t have time so you have to make time). Get involved in clubs, events, activities, anything that will get you more social. Join a group, talk to others, just do something on your campus! You’ll be amazed on how many people you can meet if you were to do something like this.

-Not just for school and/or college but for ANYWHERE, get involved in social groups, events, anything that can make you more friendly and sociable. Of course, it’s hard for me since I lack confidence AND don’t have the ability to drive (I take the bus) but you know what I do? What I’m doing now, which is typing up this blog post that is really getting lengthy that’s for sure!

-Overcome your fears! This can apply for any kind of fear you may have. Whether it’s a social fear, a fear of bees, speaking in front of other people, going public, giving a speech, putting your hand in an oven (Okay maybe not THAT!), you WILL need to overcome it eventually at some point. Life is all about overcoming fears. Not only that but it’s also about overcoming those barriers and walls you set up in the past while taking those risks. Wait a second. That was the next piece of advice I was going to give you!

-Take risks! Possibly the biggest out of all the pieces of advice I’ve given you. This is exactly why people can’t be social enough these days. For some or perhaps most, they don’t take enough risks. Without risks in life, it’s meaningless, boring, and too normal! Trust me on that one for sure!

And there you have it! Ways on how to become more social and why you should. If this wasn’t enough to inspire you, I would suggest looking at another site I’m a part of, which is The Millionaire’s Digest, a website FILLED with so many articles by myself and OVER 200 PEOPLE. Crazy, isn’t it?

Anyways, thanks for reading my first ever so called Epic Post and I hope to make more posts like this one, especially for The Millionaire’s Digest!

Take care you guys and be social as much as you can!

Author: kalinkds

KDS is owned by an individual with a mental disorder known as Autism. Kalin W. is the owner of KDS, known by the full name as "An Idea of Autism." With the passion of making music, writing, and even networking with new people, he continues onward to an infinite journey of greatness. As of 2019, he has released three albums with a fourth album in the works.

Leave a comment